The faculty of Law is organized into six departments, responsible for education and research. Academics are employed at one of these departments while their research is embedded in one of the seven research programmes. Directors of the research programmes form the research board which supports the faculty board in the development and implementation of research policy and strategy. All research programmes form part of the overarching Kooijmans Institute for Law and Governance. Academics associated with these research programmes also participate in other research institutes of the VU University Amsterdam. Centres of expertise have been established to bring together research expertise and to raise the profile of certain research projects and themes.